Tower Hill

Tower Hill - tubeview

This is a sight of London that never seize to amaze me. Whenever I ascend from the dark tunnels of the Tube and walk into the light and this sight, I fall in love with London all over again.

The first time I came to London was for a job interview. When I finished, I had a few hours to spend in London before my flight home. I stood at the tube station on the District line looking at the intricate map of coloured lines criss-crossing London and the only name I recognised was Tower Hill. I drew the conclusion that it must be the Tower of London and boarded the train.

After travelling through the tunnels straight across London I rode the escalators and walked towards the exit. Chancing on finding my way to the Tower once I was on street level again. And there it was. The beautiful view above with Tower bridge in the background and it just took my breath away. This is when I decided that I would move to London, no matter if I got the job or not. I wanted to be part of this beautiful city. Luckily I did get the job that sent me on this new journey in my life.

Tower Hill - tube view

Poppy tribute at the Tower ‘Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red’

This art installation marked the centenary of the first full day of Britain’s involvement in the first world war. 888 246 ceramic poppies filled the moat around the Tower in 2014, each poppy representing a British military fatality during the war. The installation was beautiful, touching and the share numbers of deaths during the war was highlighted in a whole new way.

Tower Hill - falling poppies

The extra bits: Threadneedle street. Another of the fascinating street names that are dotted around the city. This one is located outside the Bank of England.

Tower Hll - Threadneedle Street

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite T street in London or in your own hometown/favourite city.

T

Want to read more? You can find previous days’ post here

Want to read other blogs who take part in this challenge? Find out more here

This entry was posted in Life, reading, research, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tower Hill

  1. Eva says:

    Thanks for sharing your story.
    There is a postcard of those poppies. A friend sent it to me, and I guess it is one of my favourites: (see here if you feel curious).
    —–
    EvaMail Adventures

  2. Beth Lapin says:

    lovely tribute and thanks for sharing.

    Affirmations for a Good Life

  3. Lydia Howe says:

    Ah yes! London! I’m not generally one for cities, but London is an exception. I have only been there once (three years ago), but I hope to visit again some day.
    Those poppies are amazing. I didn’t know the story behind them. Thanks for sharing.

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge. See My “T” post here: https://lydiahowe.com/2017/04/24/t-is-for-tenacity-atozchallenge/

  4. jetgirlcos says:

    Wow, the poppies are amazing. It must have really been emotional to have seen that. The tower of London is in so many books, and I’d love to see it…

    A-to-Z-er Jetgirl visiting via Forty, c’est Fantastique

    • jebjork says:

      It was strangely emotional, I am not British and had no relatives fighting in the war so there was no personal connections but to just to see all the flowers and knowing what they represented make you stop and think.

  5. messymimi says:

    Well, i can’t say as i blame you, if i could live in London, it’s about the only place i’d leave home for.

    My favorite T street here is Tiger Bend.

  6. Pingback: Charing X Road | Getting to the end

Comments are closed.