Upper Mall

Upper Mall street sign

This stretch along the Thames in west London, used to be part of my cycling route to work when I first moved to London. The route followed the Thames from Fulham to Chiswick, accompanied by the always buzzing traffic on the Great West Road a major thoroughfare from the western suburbs into central London and the traffic noise is constant. Still you felt as if you were far away from London’s busy life once you reached this stretch. Other parts along the Thames can be quite trafficked and overwhelmed of tourist sights and other, but this stretch of life has its own character.

I used to always be jealous of the large beautiful houses with their lovely view of the river, until one day I came across an enormous puddle in my way when the Thames during a particular high tide had encroached its watery way unto the path and it was impossible to use the road. It was thigh high in some places, I was reliably told by someone who had hiked up her skirt and dared to cross the path. No question that I quickly turned around to take another path.

Upper Mall - brobuss

The extra bits: An unreliable guide to London. I like quirky guide books and I found this in a bookstore when I was looking for something for my parents. It is not easy to write about something that others have done so many times before you and it needs to be something really interesting and eye-catching for it to work. This book certainly gives you that.

Upper Mall - an Unreliable guide to London

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite U street in London or in your own hometown/favourite city.

U

Want to read more? You can find previous days’ post here

Want to read other blogs who take part in this challenge? Find out more here

This entry was posted in Life, reading, research, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Upper Mall

  1. Eva says:

    That unreliable guide sounds uberinteresant!
    —–
    EvaMail Adventures

  2. I love the unreliable guide! Now I’ll have to go in search of U streets in our area. 🙂 Great photos!

  3. messymimi says:

    An unreliable guide sounds fun and adventurous. We have an Umbehagen Lane here. It’s not big, but i like the name.

Leave a Reply

