Charing X Road

X - Charing X road sign

I admit this is a bit of cheating, Charing X Road is spelled Charing Cross Road but I was getting desperate. In all the years I have lived in London, I have yet to run in to a road that start with the letter X. I hope you forgive me for this creative use of the letter.

Charing Cross road runs straight through the West End and Theatre Land, and thus is lined with theatres and tourists, but my favourite part of this street is the book boxes opposite the cross roads to China town. There are a few antiquarians along this stretch and though I don’t particularly are interested in old book, I do love a bargain for relatively new fiction books. Last time I stopped to supposedly ‘browse,’ I ended up with seven new books to my collection.

Further up the road is the newly renovated Foyle’s flagship store, which was one of the first stores I went to during my first visit to London (after seeing The Tower). I still have the book I bought there The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory.

The extra bits: Xiaolu Guo’s Concise Chinese-English dictionary for lovers, a book set in London about love & loss, culture clashes and homesickness, could it even be classed as – X-rated, or perhaps an x-llent read?

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite X street in London or in your own hometown/favourite city.

X

Want to read more? You can find previous days’ post here

Want to read other blogs who take part in this challenge? Find out more here

This entry was posted in Life, reading, research, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charing X Road

  1. Eva says:

    That is not cheating, it is creativity.
    I haven’t read that book yet, but I read I Am China and I adored it.
    —–
    EvaMail Adventures

  2. messymimi says:

    That’s okay, i checked a listing of every street in our area, and there isn’t an X to be found.

Leave a Reply

