Synopsis and new projects

Have you ever had the feeling when you read through your synopsis and in the back of your mind, playing on repeat is a much more interesting story? Is this the time you should ditch your first attempt and go for the second or simply persevere with your first attempt?

I guess this is something that will always haunt us as writers, there are too many ideas and not so many good ones. I have tried different ways of writing and making outlines to only capture the really good ideas, but it doesn’t always turn out that way. Perhaps as I continue develop as a writer while writing the latest manuscript, my taste in what I want to write and the purpose of the book keep changing.

When contemplating this while writing this post, I think I will have to go back to the synopsis and make it more interesting and then go back to the draft to make sure that I follow it through in the story as well. I am not quite ready to give up on it quite yet. The other idea will have to wait, perhaps it will be a good NaNoWriMo project for this year.

This entry was posted in Edit, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

