Sharing and Contributing

Last post I talked about information overload in life. The more I thought about it, the more I realised that if I take the time to read something that someone has taken the time to write, it would be rude of me not to comment, even if it is simply to say ‘Great post.’

In the past, I have sometimes felt that these words are used by people who by commenting on other posts, wishes to only highlight their own person. Make your name visible and someone will find their way to what ever it is you’re selling. I am probably very cynical in this, which is why I often don’t comment on things I read, as I don’t always feel I have the insight to make a thoughtful comment and don’t want to appear shallow and self-promoting.

I thought about this much over the week, and realised that I am probably the victim of my own cynicism and that online relationships just like real life ones need to be nurtured, and through constant contact, the good will emerge from the bad. Yes you might spend some weeks following someone who is only in it for their self promotion and they will keep comment on your posts in the hope that you or one of your reader will click through to their ‘selling’ profile, but these will eventually disappear, because true relationships online and in real life will only last if there is a mutual interest from both sides.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sharing and Contributing

  1. I completely agree. It’s funny, but I feel I know more about some of my blogging buddies than I do about my neighbors. 🙂

  2. I concur. I’m particular about the blogs, Facebook pages, etc., that I follow. A balance of relational material to marketing should, IMO, be 9:1 if one is an author, designer, whatever … because people are not walking wallets and should not be treated as such.

    I loved your series about the London streets, BTW. it was so much fun to explore those byways with which I was unfamiliar, and remember the ones I love.

    • jebjork says:

      I agree with that ratio, it seems a sensible number. Thank you so much for the kind words about my A-Z contribution, I had so much fun exploring and writing the posts.

  3. messymimi says:

    Exactly. In fact, i’ve met some people IRL that i was introduced to online. If they are genuine, they stick around.

  4. Eva says:

    It’s difficult to leave a comment on posts speaking about comments. I’m tempted to write “Great post” 😉 Most of the times I left comments. I mean, in blogs written by people, not commercial teams or something like that. It’s what most of my fellow bloggers ask: “Say something, even if it’s only ‘I’ve been here'”. I like to know who has read the post, so I just do what I like people to do… Does it makes any sense?

  5. I admit that sometimes I do read blog posts and don’t comment, but usually only the ones that already have 100 replies or thereabouts. In those instances I feel that there is not much more I can say on the topic, because it has been said already. Also, it is always gratifying to receive a response from a comment you leave, although I do accept that we are all busy people and cannot always reply immediately online (guilty!). I have narrowed down the blogs I subscribe to, and try to keep to those where I feel a genuine connection to the author, or where I receive value from their writing.

    • jebjork says:

      I’m also guilty of not always replying to the comments but at the same time I appreciate when others do it to me. How to balance it all is always my big conundrum.

Leave a Reply

