West India Quay

The Docklands have been transformed from the derelict state they were in the 1980s when the docks and the once largest port in Europe had closed, now it is a new, shiny financial district of London, posing a demanding skyline next to the river Thames, its glass fronted high rises, housing thousands of office workers every day.

West India North Dock

It is not an area in London, I visit very often (there are not any schools in need of a gymnastics coach around here) but of the whole area West India Quay is my favourite spot to go.

It’s on the edge of the Docklands, which means there are fewer stressed out workers and a more laid back atmosphere at the many restaurants along the quay. It has also kept some of the old Dockland architecture and warehouses. One of these old warehouses hold the Museum of London’s Dockland branch which as most museums in London is free. This museum houses a collection of the Dockland history of the trades that were being made here as well as visiting exhibitions. A place I truly recommend if you are heading this way.

West India - London Dockland Museum

The extra bits: Another W place is Woburn Place in central London, where I set one of my stories after a dream I had about a man found in a phone booth along this street through Bloomsbury.

West India - Woburn phonebox

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite W street in London or in your own hometown/favourite city.

W

Want to read more? You can find previous days’ post here

Want to read other blogs who take part in this challenge? Find out more here

This entry was posted in Life, reading, research, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to West India Quay

  1. Eva says:

    I like the old warehouses, and I’d like to visit the museum. Otherwise, those modern buildings full of windows make me thing of people trapped inside.
    —–
    EvaMail Adventures

  2. I missed that when in London, but it sounds interesting. Where is the shipping handled now for London? When I’m back, I would like to go back to Greenwick, my favorite part of London!

    http://sagecoveredhills.blogspot.com/2017/04/w-is-for-white-dwarf.html

    • jebjork says:

      The shipping is further down in the Thames estuary. I recently moved south of the river and slowly exploring my new neighborhood. On Monday I walked through the flower garden in Greenwich, even on a rainy day it was beautiful and tranquil.

  3. messymimi says:

    A history of the dock would be fun to explore. We actually have a Westminster Drive here, and i walked along it today!

Leave a Reply

