Jermyn Street

I’m cheating a bit for this. Partly because it is very difficult to find a street name starting with J and partly because I wanted to make sure I mentioned THE best store in London. The Waterstone’s at Piccadilly, supposedly the largest bookshop in Europe. It’s back entrance is located on Jermyn Street

Jermyn street Waterstones

It’s a five story haven of books where I spend too much time and money. It holds great author talks and have attentive, chatty booksellers.

I find it fascinating to always see lots of people in the store and they don’t seem to be there just to browse. It’s encouraging to see that the written word is not dead, if now anyone participating in the A-Z challenge or reading blogs would have thought so.

People reading physical books is always an encouraging sight to me, engaging with the world other than through a screen. I am not against e-readers, tablets and computers etc. I own an e-reader myself and I use it almost every day, but I also like to switch off from everything and hold paper in my hand. Terrible thought, if we all switched to e-readers. Where would we go to just get the feeling of books?

The extra bits: Maggie Jones, retired NHS nurse who photograph urban life and history all over London. My favourite album is on Ghost Signs, you find these signs all over London and they add an extra layer to the history of the city.

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite J street in London or in your own hometown/favourite city.

J

Want to read more? You can find previous days’ post here

Want to read other blogs who take part in this challenge? Find out more here

This entry was posted in Life, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jermyn Street

  1. Five stories?! Sounds awesome. We have a little bookstore in town, which I’m happy to say is not part of chain, but it’s not near as bustling as I’d like.

    I have a couple of e-readers, and mostly use them for “fun” reading. Any reference book I choose to own must be one I can hold in hand and physically flip the pages. 🙂

  2. Atherton says:

    Hello, fellow A-to-Zer! Sounds like a wonderful place– I love bookstores, at least when they have a decent selection– and I imagine this one must, since it is so big. And I agree with you about e-readers; I do use mine sometimes, but physical books have a charm of their own. Maybe a sort of identity? I mean, one has a red cover and thick pages; another has slick pages and a picture of a gravestone partially obscured by mist; a third has yellowed pages, a cover whose art has been eaten away by use and time, and a curious notation on page 45 that seems to read “smerrp.” In an e-reader (or the ones I have used, anyway), there is often a certain sameness about each text. In the look of the thing, anyway.
    Thanks for this! If I ever find myself in London again, I know exactly where I want to go.
    Melanie Atherton Allen
    http://www.athertonsmagicvapour.com

  3. Eva says:

    I was there once. Nice atmosphere.
    I also use an e-reader and it’s very convenient (for instance, to travel or to read in other languages). Some books, especially illustrated, I prefer in paper.
    Thanks for the link to ghost signs. I like to catch them on the city I live in, too.
    —–
    EvaMail Adventures

  4. jetgirlcos says:

    Count me in for the bookstore! I would love to do a bookstore tour of London…or any city, really. If there is a bookstore (especially used and interesting books) , I am there! 🙂

    A-to-Z-er Jetgirl visiting via Forty, c’est Fantastique

Leave a Reply

