World Book Day

Today is World Book Day, a celebration of books, authors, reading – three of my favourite things and this year they are celebrating 20 years of encouraging children to read. So many books written and read in this time.

There are so many books I want to write. I collect snippets of conversation, characters, settings in my notebooks all over the place. Most will probably never leave the pages of the notebook, some I might use in one form or another. I’m sure there are writers all over the world in the same situation.

Now to books I wish I had written, there are so many, but a few of my favourites are

I captured the castle by Dodie Smith – an all time favourite that I’ve re-read several times

The sugar queen by Sarah Addison Allen – thinking about this mystical, sweet story, always makes me feel warm and fluffy inside

Sophie’ s world by Joestin Gaarder – another magical book that transport you to a different world and sparked my interest into philosophy

And lastly, today I’m reading the difficult book The Crossing by Samar Yazbek. A journey into the war in Syria

i-capture-the-castle

New edition of ‘I capture the castle’ by Dodie Smith. The dark purple cover is gorgeous.

This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Historical Novel, Life, reading, Short Stories, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

