NaNoWriMo Week 2 – Closing in on the halfway mark

Getting close to the half way point in this year’s writing challenge I am thriving on the inspiration I had for my idea that is still pushing me forwards. My detailed plan has kept me on track both with the story and word count.

For the first time, I’m writing this story with an idea in the back of my mind that this is going to be the first book in a series of at least four more books.

Why five books specifically? When I was planning this book I had many different scenarios as to what could happen to my main character. Once I followed through with them all (I did threw out a whole bunch) I realised that there is probably material there for five books. Thus the idea was born to write a series instead of a stand-alone book. It also helps that I’ve written a character that I really like and that I can see develop past 250 odd pages.

This is the first time I ever approached a book as a series and it has certainly thrown up some different challenges when it comes to character development and plotting sub-stories. But that’s what NaNoWriMo is for, experimenting with your writing and see where it takes you.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo Week 2 – Closing in on the halfway mark

  1. Ooh, sounds like fun! I just reached the halfway mark with my novel (book 5 in the Redcliffe series) and am already thinking about the plot for book 6… 😉

Leave a Reply

