Creativity

Day 12 of 28.

Following the challenge of writing in a new spot every day has set me off on a path of lots of free writing. I bring a notebook with me wherever I go, but I usually use that for ideas and snippets of conversations that I want to save. This month, because I didn’t always know where I would end up, I brought a different notebook for free writing. This is a souvenir from my holiday to Japan this summer. It seemed properly inspirational for this purpose.

bunny-notebook-2

Sitting down in different places everyday, I try to write for at least 20 minutes without stopping and as the days have passed it has been easier to do this. Sometimes I have been working on something specific, but other times I simply sit down and observe, writing what I see, hear, smell, feel, taste, practicing using all senses, something I often lack in my writing.

A new habit often takes about 28 days to stick (hence the challenge) and I do have to agree that doing the same thing everyday has pushed on to me that I should be doing it from now on. More than halfway through the experiment, it has been quite an experience and the urge to write every day has definitely been established. I am glad that I decided to do this now, gearing up for NaNoWriMo next month and even though 20 minute won’t get me to 1666 words every day, the habit has been established.

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creativity

  1. HM Waugh says:

    What a great idea! I might give this a try. Always writing in the office can be a tad boring…

Leave a Reply

