New writing places

I’m following the advice from a writing coach about finding a new place to write every day for 28 days. Partly to get into the habit of writing regularly for the upcoming NaNoWriMo in November, but also to inspire new creativity. It can be something simple as turning your chair around and get a different view for your eyes and brain to focus on.

I remember one day when I was stuck on a particular piece, I sat on a stool in my kitchen, waiting for the pasta water to boil when suddenly a solution to the piece I had struggled with came to me. I rushed to get my laptop and sat writing for two hours in the kitchen on this very uncomfortable stool and wrote like a madwoman. If there is something like ‘runner’s high’ for writers, I think I experienced that sitting on that stool in my cramped kitchen.

For this challenge, I hope to find some new fun places to write, and perhaps find a passion for handwriting, as some places might not be suitable for my laptop. I have gotten out of the habit to write by hand, because my penmanship is terrible and most of the time I can’t be bothered to spend the time to type things up afterwards. What I might try to do is write key words and not whole passages, which I then can use when I get home to make something out of it.

Follow me on Twitter to see where I’m writing every day.

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New writing places

  1. Pingback: Here I am today! | Getting to the end

  2. Pingback: Creativity | Getting to the end

  3. Pingback: Photo Reflection on Creativity | Getting to the end

  4. Pingback: It’s back – NaNoWriMo | Getting to the end

Leave a Reply

