Working with a new computer programme

I have long been old school, simply using a word document for my writing. I would open a new document and start typing. Not worrying about needing to move scenes around etc. I always started at A and went through the alphabet to Z, then THE END.

Then I started to experiment with my writing. Writing differently, to see if I could find another way to write and to write better. That’s when I realised I also needed to use a different tool.

I chose Scrivner, simply because they are a sponsor of NaNoWriMo, I had heard about it before and of course the generous 30 day trial period. Installing the programme on my computer, with the help of my IT consultant (i.e my brother), I spent two days going through the tutorial to learn the basics at least (yes I know, they probably recommend less than half that time, but I am a slow learner when it comes to technical stuff). The programme is not particularly difficult. If you want to you can basically use it as a word document, open a new document and start writing, which is what I did do in the beginning. Now I am slowly getting to know more of its features and use more of them.

My triumph was probably when I managed to compile parts of my novel into a word document and it looked beautiful. I highly recommend Scrivener for anyone who wants a reasonable priced writing programme with features you can choose to use if you want to, but it won’t hurt the formatting of your novel if you don’t.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working with a new computer programme

  1. I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve had Scrivener for over a year, but haven’t tried it. Time restrictions are my main concern, but also the frustration it might create. I’m so not a techie. 🙂 I’m happy to hear you like it.

  2. I’m old school as well and still use basic Word (although I have updated to Word 16 now!) Glad you like Scrivener, I may consider it in the future when finances allow 🙂

Leave a Reply

