What do you write and why?

Fellow novel writers, do you enter short story competitions? Or do you stick to one form?

I flutter between the two, mostly because I enjoy both. However, I often find that as I’m working towards a deadline for a short story competition, I neglect my novels for longer than I should. And now when I might throw in Screenwriting in to the mix as well, I’m wondering if I should stick to one for a longer period of time and see how it pans out.

Any writing is practice and down the line it will make me a better writer. However, I am worried that by moving from one to next, without excelling at one will leave me with a bunch of unpublishable writing.

In the beginning of the year, I set a goal to enter at least three short story competitions every four months and to come up with a new story for each, or a new perspective of an old story. At the same time I feel I am getting nowhere really with my novels. I’m editing two, one in Swedish and one in English, while I’m planning a new novel, which I might be writing during NaNoWriMo this year, unless I get to anxious and start it before.

Perhaps I’m simply over-reaching my capacity and writing-time and need to cut down on both, to feel more efficient during the time I have. Except that I hate readjusting my goals, as it would be like giving up on them. So my lasting question is what form do you write? And why?

This entry was posted in inspiration, Short Stories, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do you write and why?

  1. I intended to enter more short story competitions during the past 12 months, but then my novel writing sort of took hold, and now I am definitely more interested in finishing my novel projects rather than short stories. That said, a few years ago I went through a phase of short story writing, so I suppose it ebbs and flows. Like you say, as long as you are writing something on a regular basis, everything is working out well. Oh, and I am currently half-way through Camp NaNoWriMo and enjoying it immensely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

