Screenwriting

I have an idea, that I have had for awhile, not quite knowing what to do with it. It is very visual and rely on symbols in the storytelling, and I’m leaning towards that it would really suit better as a film than a book. But how to do that? I think I have to learn a new craft.

I don’t have any high hopes of mastering script writing on the first go. It took me about six full length novels before I even got to the point of wanting to show that to anyone, and I am still a couple of completed manuscript before getting close to a publishing contract. So with my feet firmly on the ground, I will spend the summer reading up on screenwriting while preparing for hard work and numerous wrong turns before getting closer to success. But you do have to start somewhere, right?

‘Don’t be afraid to fail, be afraid not to try’

I do think it is important to always evolve and find new avenues of inspiration. Screenwriting would be one for me, new but still close enough to novel writing that I can feel a bit of confidence. I am pushing out the boat, but I can still see the shore and I have my life vest on, so if the boat turns over I won’t drown.

What would be a new challenge for you?

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Screenwriting

  1. Good for you! I have actually been pondering the same thing recently. I don’t currently have any obvious ideas for screenplays, but I could probably adapt some of my earlier stories. I just haven’t done the research on form and style, etc. I’ve also been considering writing non-fiction, which is something I am about to begin the process of achieving. Let’s cheer each other on! 🙂

  2. Pingback: What do you write and why? | Getting to the end

  3. laratollin says:

    If you really want to know every thing there is about screenwriting look up Syd Field. His books are amazing, thaught me everything I know 🙂

  4. Pingback: Summer research | Getting to the end

Leave a Reply

