NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month

N

NaNoWriMo is a writer’s paradise. The first time I heard about this month-long challenge in November, it had already started and I was too scared to start half way through. This year I will complete my 10th challenge.

Of the nine novels I have completed I have kept two so far, one that I’m currently re-writing and one that I’m still contemplating how it needs to be revised to complete it.

What is most amazing is what happens outside November. I have become better at scheduling writing time and actually write when I sit down in front of my computer. I have also become better at finding small spaces in my day when I can get a couple of hundred words written. My dedication to my stories have increased and I have the belief that I can actually write and finish a story.

If you’re a writer and haven’t yet tried NaNoWriMo or CampNaNoWriMo (running at the moment and again later in summer) do it! It’s fun, thrilling and a real reward at the end of the month where you have something substantially written.

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month

  1. NaNoWriMo has become a regular part of my writing program. I’ve even held a couple of person writing months outside of NaNo! The biggest benefit to me is not being afraid to put words on paper because they might not sound professional. First drafts will never sound good and are not meant for public consumption anyway!

    Gail’s 2016 April A to Z Challenge
    Theme: The Fun in Writing #217

    • jebjork says:

      Yes Gail you’re right about the first draft. NaNoWriMo really frees you to write a first draft that might not be the most professional looking, but then you have something to work with.

Leave a Reply

