Individuality

I

I often find when I write certain characters that they resemble me more than other. And when I think about their actions, I think about them from my point of view and my experiences. They are acting or saying a certain thing because that is how I would do it. Thatโ€™s how I realise that the character has lost his or her individuality. They are simply me in disguise. Re-write!

There will always be certain characteristics of mine that shine through, but they still need to have their own thoughts and actions. It is up to me to avoid getting lazy and simply use my own experience. Since I am not writing about my life, the characters should not act in that way. It is a slippery slope to travel down, very soon the book I am writing is about me and no longer a fictional tale.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Individuality

  1. It’s a fine line to walk, isn’t it? Kudos to you for fighting for your characters’ integrity.

    Happy A2Z-ing ๐Ÿ™‚
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs (and member of co-host Damyanti’s team, D’s Company )

  2. C R Ward says:

    I think it’s normal for an author to leave a little bit of herself in the characters she creates. Most of mine have traits I’d like to have. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. tcausten says:

    I personally find trying to work out what my characters personalities are, the hardest.
    A great post, I look forward to reading more from you

  4. I find that my characters all exhibit aspects of myself, but they do develop their own, very individual, personalities. It is as though they use my fingers as a channel for their thoughts and actions… ๐Ÿ˜‰
    https://spookymrsgreen.com/2016/04/12/atozchallenge-j-is-for-journey/

  5. Yvonne V says:

    The fact you aware of this is key! Revision solves a lot of problems, right?

  6. allangilmour says:

    Mr Midnight, Sir Winston and myself love your little piece. Thank you for posting. A big meow from Mr Midnight, a deep-rumbling pur from Sir Winston and a plain, good old-fashioned “thank you” from myself.

Leave a Reply

