Escaping your past

EThe first novel I finished and actually didn’t want to lock away in a drawer to never see the light of the day again was my thriller Escaping your past. I even felt it was good enough to be sent out to agents.

A very scary moment to actually send your writing into the world.

As it happened, it was not as good as I thought and I got very few replies (one half positive). Since then, the novel spent some months on the back burner until I felt comfortable enough to tackle it again.

On a post-it on my computer, I had a suggestion of what was wrong with the story, but I couldn’t quite figure out how to change it. Then one day the solution was there. Not in a clear re-written form (unfortunately) but as a thought that this might actually work.

I am still in the process of re-writing, it has taken a lot longer than I hoped, but slowly it is shaping into a story I like again and I have great hopes for the future.

This entry was posted in Thriller, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Escaping your past

  1. aandj8804 says:

    Just because agents didn’t love it at first go doesn’t mean the story wasn’t good. Perhaps it was just a bad day for them? Or maybe the story wasn’t right for their companies? It sounds like you are working to make your story better though, so that’s good. If you feel it needs editing, then maybe it wasn’t your best. 🙂 Best of luck on getting your story published! And congrats on making it this far! (And participating in A-Z!) 🙂

  2. Shalzzz says:

    I’m sure it would come out brilliant. Don’t be disheartened. You know the story of J.K.Rowling, right? Do well and best of luck 🙂

  3. lyndagrace says:

    Hello, I am visiting from the A to Z Challenge. I am finding your writing experiences interesting to read.

    Lynda Grace from my blog
    Lynda Grace An Hour Away

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month | Getting to the end

Leave a Reply

