Mockingbird revisited

A while ago I wrote about how I didn’t enjoy reading ‘How to kill a mockingbird’ because it had been assigned to me as a school project, so this year when I found out the book was to be adapted to the stage at the Barbican in London, I felt this was the perfect opportunity to experience the story from a fresh perspective.

To watch the stage play is of course not exactly the same as reading it myself, but I really liked how the supporting actors read passages from the book throughout the play. It has inspired me to consider picking up the novel again and hopefully read it before the paperback release of Harper Lee’s surprise contribution to the literary world ‘Go set a watchman.’

I do like the concept that many reviewers have pointed out that ‘Go set a watchman’ can be seen as a guide to how a novel is formed and that the two books should be read as a companion to each other.

For those who have read both, do you have any thoughts on this?

This entry was posted in Life, Misc, reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

