My Step, Her Stride

I have signed up to do a 10K run, in London’s Regent’s Park on 6 October 2013 to support women survivors of war through Women for Women International.

Please help me reach my target of £300, the cost for putting one woman through their programme, by donating at my Justgiving page. Or even better help a woman directly by sponsoring her for a year through the programme and help change a life (U.S. site). 

For more inspiration, from the organisation

WHY?

Your donation will help women in 8 countries affected by war and conflict to rebuild their lives through Women for Women International’s one-year education and vocational skills programme.

When a woman enrols onto the year-long programme she learns about her rights, about health and nutrition, and the importance of support networks, amongst many other things. Importantly, she also learns a vocational skill – for example sewing, soap making, or basket weaving – preparing her to set up a business or join a co-operative.

At the end of the year, she graduates with the knowledge, skills and confidence she needs to start up a business, become self-sufficient, and a leader in her community.

 Watch this video to see the incredible women and work you’ll be supporting!

By donating today, you will be helping to women like Alliance, a mother of two from the Democratic Republic of Congo, who was attacked and raped in 2005. Alliance is now trained in soap making and has started her own business – this is her story:

“While in the district I am living in at the moment, Women for Women enrollers were visiting door to door and they said they were enrolling women. We get to choose what we learn as a job skill. I said I would like to be trained in soap making and so this is what I am doing. It is four months training and we’ve completed one month and so we have three more to go. It is something I like very much. We are also receiving numeracy training.

I have made a lot of friends with other participants. I first spoke to my life skills trainer about what happened to me and some of my friends know what happened to me; that I was raped. I told them. In the future when I start making my own soaps, it will be very profitable to me and to my whole family.

Fortunately as a Women for Women participant I am now receiving monthly sponsorship funds. What I received last month, I used for food and I have saved five dollars. Now I am freer and more independent.”

Please join the challenge or donate – if you have any questions get in touch!

Thank you so much.

This entry was posted in inspiration, Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

