I’m failing to fly by the seat of my pants!

The two CampNaNoWriMo I have participated in this year have been a test in seeing if I could write ‘by the seat of my pants.’

I am a dedicated planner, so much that I sometimes like the planning bit of a story more interesting than actually write the thing afterwards, with the result that I end up not writing the story.

So with only a vague idea and a character in mind, I set out for camp this year with the hope of using the two months to write a 60 000 word story.

Failing to reach my goal of 30 000 words in May, I used June to catch up, determined to write on target in July. It has not quite happened and I feel quite lost. I have developed too many sub-stories and in the process lost the main plot. At the moment I am about 10 000 words behind and don’t see any prospect of catching up before the end of the month.

Anyway, the good thing is, my persistent procrastination of completing my CampNaNoWriMo story on time, have resulted in that I now have an idea as to what I am going to write in November for the big NaNoWriMo.

It’s a ‘What if?’ story, set in modern time England and I am very excited about the work I have done so far on it.

Bring on November!

This entry was posted in inspiration, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

