Gruelling first edit of Escaping your past

I always thought editing was more fun doing than the first draft, because the hard part is already done, the getting the words on paper bit.

Now I am not so sure any more.

I am editing my thriller Escaping your past at the moment. Really thorough editing. The one where you throw out your darlings, filling in plotholes and other fun stuff. I am even contemplating moving part of the story to a totally different country, which means I have to do a whole new set of research.

Most of the time, my mantra goes on repeat in the back of my head. ‘It’s going to get better than it was before. It’s going to get better than it was before…

Right now I am on page 47, I had hoped to be further along, but it takes very much longer than I expected.

In the mean time I am cheating by starting something new and fresh at CampNaNoWriMo. A new thriller that is much more fun than editing my old worn out story. Not the best tactics I know, but very good procrastination if I may say so.

Back to the camp fire!

This entry was posted in Edit, Thriller, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gruelling first edit of Escaping your past

  1. MoreThanACat says:

    Oh, I’m glad I’m not the only one juggling revisions with another tale… in my case a sequel.
    Good luck with both 🙂

  2. Most writers strongly prefer writing to editing, Josefine, so you are in good (if not happy) company. I have learned to be a careful planner and thorough outliner to minimize the amount of rewriting required later on. I also write slowly in an attempt to reduce the amount of finicky editing in the next draft. It can be extremely frustrating to finish a draft section of a work only to find that you are unwilling to tackle the sometimes incredibly boring and time-consuming editing work.

    While learning the wisdom of outlining, I once read some writing advice from a thriller author about making big changes to a work in the draft stage. He suggested it is wiser to stay with the original plan and save any major new ideas for another book! The idea is to keep your efforts focussed, thereby increasing your chances of successfully bringing a work to completion.

Leave a Reply

