What is NaNoWriMo and why on earth are you doing it?!

November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and naturally I will participate. My sixth year now!

NaNoWriMo is a writing challenge where every November you have 30 days to write a 50 000 word novel. It is run by the charity Office of Letters and Lights but you are responsible to no one but yourself, and use their website to update your word count and interact with other Wrimos. I am lucky to live in London where there is a very active NaNoWriMo group and ML (Municipal Liaisons) who arrange write-ins, meetings and even a NaNorilla walk through London, to help keep you motivated throughout the month.

So why on earth do I do it? Well, the simple answer is because it’s fun. I like a challenge.  But most of all, especially during my first years of NaNoWriMo I learnt how it feels to get to the end. Even if getting to the end means that on November 30th, I type up a summary of the last couple of chapters. The last couple of years I have also challenged myself by writing in a genre I usually don’t read or write in, and it has been quite an interesting journey. Last years thriller (Escaping your past) has even proved to be better than I first anticipated.

What am I working on this year? A dramatic comedy with a romantic twist. I’m not sure yet if I can write ‘funny’, but we’ll see.

Is anyone else joining me on this crazy adventure?

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What is NaNoWriMo and why on earth are you doing it?!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWri-NO | Emily's Tea Leaves

  2. Pingback: Hurricanes and Word Counts « My Two Cents

  3. Pingback: What If It All Means Nothing « What If It All Means Something

  4. Pingback: Got all your ideas for NaNoWriMo? « Where do you get your ideas?

  5. Pingback: Sandy will not deter Wrimos « Visions and Revisions

  6. Pingback: Stop. Novel Time. « Living Severed Head

  7. Pingback: NaNoWriMo opens creative doors | Getting to the end

  8. Pingback: I’m NOT An Axe Murderer-Dragon Speak Is! « Swimming In The Adult Pool

Leave a Reply

